top of page
  • lhshardlow

One Year On...

I honestly never thought I would be sitting here writing this. One year on. One year since life as we knew it was completely flipped on its head. It’s been a year since the UK was put into the very first lockdown and my word, doesn’t it feel like a lifetime ago?!

I don’t think anyone could have predicted the outcome. Thinking back to a year ago, almost excited by the thought of not having to go back into work. Time we never thought we would get, to do what exactly? Absolutely nothing! We’ve clapped for our carers, taken part in endless zoom quizzes, baked enough banana breads to last a lifetime and let’s not forget PE with Joe Wicks, the nation’s favourite PE teacher, who even managed to get me off the sofa once in a while.


It’s safe to say it hasn’t been the smoothest of rides for many, there has been a lot of uncertainty, a lot of fear and definitely too much time trapped indoors. Despite all of this, as I reflect over the past year, all I seem drawn to are the memories and experiences I never thought I would get. For one thing, lockdown allowed me to start up this blog. Something I never thought I would get a chance to do. I was always pushing my passion back for something that seemed ‘more important’, never having enough time to take that step. Can’t really come up with that excuse during a lockdown now can I? It’s been my way of escaping from the craziness of the world. To sit down and write whatever comes to my mind, whether that be my own experiences in life or wanting to share another amazing recipe with you all (and there have been a lot!).


Lockdown also allowed me to connect more with those that I love and discover new hobbies to keep me occupied. Delving back into my childhood with the endless amounts of puzzles that I completed with my sister every evening and of course I can’t forget to mention the endless hours we spent on the latest TikTok trend. I managed to get my old job back, got a boyfriend, I even built a shed with my Dad!! Let’s not forget those dreaded lockdown hairstyles (still praying those salons open soon!) or the panic-buyers of March 2020 swiping every single loo roll off the shelf or even the parents who transitioned into the role of teacher struggling to get kids off of Fortnite and back into the books. As hard as we may want to, I don’t think we can ever forget those hours of homeschooling. Some things may have been put on hold, there are birthdays waiting to be celebrated and plans put on pause, but hopefully soon there will be even more unforgettable memories to be made with family and friends!!


It is only until you look back that you realise it sure has been one hell of a ride! I’m grateful that there’s a little more hope in the world and a light at the end of this very dark tunnel. Here’s to June 21st!! I’ll see you all on the other side....

 

If you haven't checked it out already, why don't you take another trip down memory lane with one of my very first posts: Life in Lockdown



Comments


bottom of page