top of page
  • lhshardlow

Book Review: What July Knew by Emily Koch

Rating: 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I was so excited to have been given the opportunity to receive a proof copy of Emily Koch's newest release What July Knew by the lovely team at Penguin Random House. After reading the synopsis, I just could not wait to get my hands on a copy and this was one that definitely did not disappoint! I was hooked from the very first pages and completely immersed myself into this powerful and emotional read. I grew very fond of the protagonist, July Hooper, and her story as she sets out to unveil the truth about the death of her mother. This was a very different genre of book for me, one that I do not usually reach for, but is now one that I will keep going back to and share with as many people as possible. Full of so many different twists and turns that just leave you on the edge of your seat wanting to find out more. Suspenseful, gripping and intense... I mean seriously what more could you ask for? Just to top it all off, Emily Koch's writing is both compelling and addictive to read! It was my first time reading one of Koch's novels and it will not be my last. An emotional tale about family, love and loss. This is a psychological thriller that I can guarantee you will not be able to put down...


About The Book:

When 10 year old July Hooper is set a summer project to write about a family member who she knows very little about, she is automatically drawn to the life of her mother. July only knows eighteen things about her mother, all of which she has learnt through her family and friends, and she is determined to find out more. As she spends her summer amongst all the secrets and whispers, will July be able to uncover the truth?


Trigger warning - this book does cover moments of domestic violence.

Comments


bottom of page