top of page
  • lhshardlow

Book Review: The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V. E. Schwab

Rating: 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

2023 seems to be the year for me to pick up books that I wouldn't usually read and it has all started with The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E. Schwab. Now I must admit that fantasy is a genre that I don't particularly reach for, but after overhearing a colleague recommend this book to a customer during my Waterstones days, the book went straight onto my TBR list. I'm pretty sure she compared it to The Time Traveller's Wife - and this could not be more accurate! This time-hopping narrative spans across 300 years and what I admired the most was how intricately Schwab intertwines Addie's past and present. Sometimes, when reading a book that involves different time periods, the narrative can become muddled and confusing as you flick back through the pages to remember just where you are. But, I can honestly say that this was not the case for Addie LaRue - the narrative just flowed so seamlessly. Another aspect that I was absolutely blown away by was the language that Schwab uses. She has a way of describing things and is able to paint a picture for the reader, so that you barely have to use your own imagination to map your way through. The flow of words is so poignant, mixing art and history together, whilst still being able to make Addie a relatable character (in spite of her situation!) I can honestly say that this is a book unlike anything I have ever read before. Poetic. Stunning. A masterpiece.


As I found my way towards the end of the book, the tears began to flow. I am not usually one to cry when reading, but the fear of a tragic ending, whilst desperately holding onto a happily ever after, soon took hold of me. I have never felt so emotionally attached to a book before and I absolutely fell in love with the story of Addie LaRue!


About The Book:

This beautifully haunting book follows a young girl who is so desperate to be free that she makes a deal with the devil simply to avoid marriage. But, she doesn't quite realise what she has got herself into as the devil curses her to be forgotten by everyone she meets. With no other choice but to flee her home town in 18th century France, Addie begins her journey that takes her all across the world. The biggest challenge: learning to live a life where no one remembers her and where everything she owns becomes lost or broken.


She exists only as a muse to artists and her only companion is her dark devil, who visits her each year on the anniversary of their deal. For over 300 years, Addie is alone in the world. Until one day, in a hidden bookstore in Manhattan, she meets Henry. The man who remembers her...



コメント


bottom of page